Certifications Offered - Divine Mercy University

The CTRS at Divine Mercy University has partnered with the Green Cross Academy for Traumatology to offer certification courses leading to four separate levels of Trauma certification.  The four certifications are:

  1. Compassion Fatigue Educator
  2. Compassion Fatigue Therapist
  3. Field Traumatologist
  4. Certified (Clinical) Traumatologist

The courses for the certifications will be offered throughout the year covering all levels of intervention.  The Certified Traumatologist credential is recognized by the Veteran’s Administration (VA), Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA), Volunteer Organizations Amid Disaster (VOAD), and other response agencies.  The workshops are offered both on-site at the Arlington, VA campus of Divine Mercy University or online through a virtual classroom.

Certifications available through Green Cross Academy for Traumatology and requirements – Completion of workshops are often one step in the process of Certification. Participants must become a member of Green Cross through application and annual dues to receive and to maintain Certification for which they qualify. Previous training from other organization are evaluated for credit and acceptance on an individual basis. Needless to say that all 4 certification levels require application to the Green Cross Academy for Traumatology and maintaining membership to maintain Certification(s).

Certified Compassion Fatigue Educator

Compassion Stress Management Workshop/Training

Certified Compassion Fatigue Therapist

Compassion Fatigue Therapist Workshop/Training

Certified Field Traumatologist

Disaster Trauma Workshop/Training or Field Trauma Workshop/Training

FEMA on-line course: IS-100

FEMA on-line course IS-700

FEMA on-line course IS-394

Completion of the Compassion Stress Management and Compassion Fatigue Therapist workshops/trainings

Certified (Clinical) Traumatologist

Treating Traumatized Families Workshop/Training

Assessment and Treatment of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Treating Anxiety and Phobia (EMDR Level 1)

100 hours direct field work in trauma (one to one, group, or family therapy)

Completion of all requirements for Compassion Fatigue Educator, Compassion Fatigue Therapist, and Field Traumatologist Certifications

Master Traumatologist (proposed)

Grief and Loss Workshop/Training

Psychological First Aid Workshop/Training

Understanding and Treating Sexual Trauma Workshop/ Training

Cross Training with other Certifications such as CISM (Critical Incident Stress Management), Red Cross, or ATSS (Assoc. of Traumatic Stress Specialists

Completion of all requirements for Compassion Fatigue Educator, Compassion Fatigue Therapist, Field Traumatologist, and Certified Traumatologist Certifications

A minimum of 5 years full-time direct experience in the field either through employment or volunteer organizations