Safety & Security - Divine Mercy University

DMU Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates  Learn more

Safety and Security

Divine Mercy University is committed to the safety of its students, employees, and guests.

DMU has emergency plans in place and maintains close contact with the Loudoun County Office of Emergency Management.

In an emergency, taking personal responsibility is key.

All DMU students and employees should be familiar with the emergency preparedness policies and procedures in order to help ensure their own safety and that of others.

Coronavirus — Up-to-Date Information

Emergency Contact Information

  • DMU Emergency Line 865-458-1111 or ext. 9999
  •  Emergency Coordinators
    • VP Operations: Antonio Maza Operations@divinemercy.edu 703.416.1441 ext. 113
    • First Floor 
      • Helena Orellana IPS Center horellana.ips@divinemercy.edu 703.416.1441 ext. 123
    • Second Floor
      • Jeff Elliott Library jelliott@divinemercy.edu 703.416.1441 ext. 121
      • Ingrid Hellstrom Library ihellstrom@divinemercy.edu 703.416.1441 ext. 119
    • Third Floor
      • Rigg Mohler rmohler@divinemercy.edu 703.574.4062
      • Laura Tucker ltucker@divinemercy.edu 703.940.5013
      • Helen Truppo PSY Program htruppo.ips@divinemercy.edu 703.416.1441 ext. 159
  • Fire, Police, Medical Emergency: 911

Emergency Notification System

 When emergency notices need to be communicated, the faculty, staff and students are alerted through all or some of these means:

  • Text Message
  • Email 
  • Website

Safety and Security Before and After Hours

  • All doors will be locked to the outside public before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM. Access will be controlled by the use of electronic keys.
  • Before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM those without electronic keys may call 703-461-1440 or extension 441 to reach the DMU Security Officer.
  • To be escorted to your car after hours, by security personnel, contact 703-461-1440 or extension 441 to reach the DMU Security Officer.
  • All doors will be locked to the outside public before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM. Access will be controlled by the use of electronic keys.
  • Before 9:00 AM and after 5:00 PM those without electronic keys may call 703-461-1440 or extension 441 to reach the DMU Security Officer.
  • To be escorted to your car after hours, by security personnel, contact 703-461-1440 or extension 441 to reach the DMU Security Officer.

Safety and Emergency Procedures 

Annual Campus Safety and Security Report – Published December 2020


Facilities and Operations Contacts

Director of Operations: operations-sterling@divinemercy.edu

Security Officer: 703-461-1440 or ext. 441 security@divinemercy.edu

Maintenance: maintenance@divinemercy.edu